LOCAL FIREARMS REGULATIONS - IN MICHIGAN:
NEW GUN LAWS GO INTO EFFECT IN MICHIGAN ON TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 13TH, 2024:
IF YOU ARE PURCHASING A PISTOL AND DO NOT HAVE A CONCEALED PISTOL LICENSE (CPL), YOU MUST FIRST GO TO A LOCAL POLICE DEPARTMENT AND OBTAIN A LICENSE TO PURCHASE (RI-010A), THEN COME BACK AND SEE US. WE WILL CONDUCT A BACKGROUND (NICS) CHECK. IF YOU HAVE A CPL, THERE ARE NO CHANGES IN THE WAY YOU PURCHASE A PISTOL FROM AN FFL/GUN SHOP.
RED FLAG LAWS (DON’T GET US STARTED ON THIS ONE, WE ALREADY KNOW…):
WHAT DOES IT MEAN? IT WILL ALLOW FAMILY MEMBERS, POLICE, MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS, ROOMMATES, AND FORMER DATING PARTNERS TO PETITION A JUDGE TO REMOVE FIREARMS FROM THOSE THEY BELIEVE POSE AN IMMINENT THREAT TO THEMSELVES OR OTHERS. THE JUDGE WOULD HAVE 24 HOURS TO DECIDE ON A PROTECTION ORDER AFTER A REQUEST IS FILED.
SCENARIO: YOU AND A FRIEND GET INTO AN ARGUMENT. IN THE HEAT OF THE MOMENT, YOU THROW A COFFEE CUP AGAINST THE WALL IN ANGER. FRIEND CONTACTS THE POLICE AND STATES THEY BELIEVE YOU TO BE AN IMMINENT THREAT. YOU WILL HAVE TO PROVE OTHERWISE, BUT IN THE MEANTIME, A JUDGE WILL ORDER YOUR FIREARMS REMOVED FROM YOUR IMMEDIATE ACCESS.
WHERE WE COME IN: YOUR FIREARMS CAN BE SAFELY STORED WITH US FOR SAFE KEEPING UNTIL YOU’VE CLEARED YOUR GOOD NAME! SHOULD THIS MISFORTUNE ARISE, PLEASE CONTACT US FOR FURTHER INFORMATION AND FIREARM(S) STORAGE SOLUTIONS.
THE STATE OF MICHIGAN IS NOW MANDATING A “SAFE STORAGE LAW”, WHICH IS ALREADY ON THE BOOKS AS FEDERAL LAW. THIS STATE LAW ALSO REQUIRES THE OWNER KEEP GUNS LOCKED UP AND AWAY FROM THOSE THAT SHOULDN’T HAVE ACCESS TO THEM, ESPECIALLY MINOR CHILDREN. GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS AT THE STATE LEVEL WILL NOT BE GOING DOOR TO DOOR TO MAKE SURE YOUR GUNS ARE SAFE AND SECURE. HOWEVER, SHOULD A MINOR CHILD OR SOMEONE THAT SHOULDN’T HAVE ACCESS TO YOUR FIREARM GO OUT AND INJURE, MAIM, OR KILL SOMEONE, THIS WILL NOW ALLOW AN ADDITIONAL CHARGE. THINK “JENNIFER CRUMBLEY”, WHICH HER RECENT JURY VERDICT HAS NOW SET PRECEDENCE ACROSS THE COUNTRY.
IF YOU HAVE ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS REGARDING THE NEW GUN LAWS IN MICHIGAN, PLEASE CONTACT US.
If a DELAY notification is received, the minimum wait time with no further response from ATF under the Brady Act is 3 business days (10 business days for anyone between the ages of 18 and 21), before we could “potentially” release the firearm(s) to you. We reserve the right to NOT release a firearm to you for ANY reason we deem necessary, and are not required to transfer a firearm to you even if passing a background check successfully.
As of March 3rd, 2020, a valid Concealed Pistol License (CPL) is no longer a NICS alternative. Please click HERE for more information.
For additional firearms related information in the state of Michigan including CPL requirements, applications and instructions, Firearms laws of Michigan, Reciprocity, etc., please click HERE. If you are needing a reciprocity map for travel outside the state of Michigan, click HERE.
LOCAL FIREARMS REGULATIONS – ALL OTHER STATES:
Please verify with a local FFL Dealer that the firearm you are looking at is legal to own in your area. FIREARMS MAY ONLY BE SHIPPED TO A LICENSED DEALER (FFL HOLDER). A copy of a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card (conceal carry or purchase permit) or copy of a Driver’s License is REQUIRED for all ammunition purchases, even if being shipped to the few states that require an FFL. This shall include all parties involved in the transaction, should there be different identification information for a billing and shipping address. We do not retain your information. It is only used to verify that you are of legal age for ammunition purchases going across state lines and is required per state and federal law. You must be 18 or older to purchase rifle or shotgun ammunition and 21 or older to purchase handgun ammunition. All ammunition will be shipped ground with adult signature required. Check your local laws for any other regulations. Always make sure to use the correct ammunition for your specific firearms. ALL AMMUNITION SALES WILL COMPLY WITH LOCAL AND STATE LAWS AND WILL NOT BE SHIPPED TO ANY RESTRICTED AREAS.
We do not substitute/change magazines (unless otherwise stated), make any alteration to firearms (unless otherwise stated), or ship to areas where the item is prohibited. Do not purchase high-capacity magazines if they are not legal to own in your area. Any returns of high-capacity magazines are subject to a 20% return fee and buyer will be responsible for return shipping cost. Insurance is applicable if the magazine is part of a firearm. Insurance would apply to any firearm. Unless you have a lawful and valid reason to buy ammunition and/or firearms and be able to prove this PRIOR to your purchase, we will not ship to California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Vermont, or the District of Columbia. We will accept FFL Dealer Transfers from these states. Additional fees may apply for FFL Transfers to the states referenced above, due to additional paperwork that is required. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR KNOWING THE LAWS OF YOUR STATE! THERE ARE NO EXCEPTIONS!
GENERAL FIREARM SALES AND THE FFL PROCESS:
EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY: WE DO NOT CONDUCT TRANSFERS FOR ARMS UNLIMITED, INC., OR ATLANTIC FIREARMS. WE NO LONGER ACCEPT TRANSFERS FROM PRIVATE PARTIES. ALL TRANSFERS SHIPPED TO US MUST BE SENT BY AN FFL. ANY FIREARM RECEIVED FROM A SENDING FFL THAT HAS NO CUSTOMER INFORMATION INCLUDED WITH THE FIREARM, THE CUSTOMER WILL INCUR AN ADDITIONAL $25.00 TO OUR NORMAL TRANSFER FEE. ADDITIONALLY, ANY FFL TRANSFER WE RECEIVE THAT INCURS ADDITIONAL TIME TO PROCESS DUE TO PACKING IN PEANUTS, MISSING PAPERWORK, ETC., WILL BE CHARGED ACCORDINGLY. UNFORTUNATELY, YOU WILL NEED TO TAKE THIS UP WITH YOUR SELLER. FINALLY, PLEASE DO NOT SHOW UP LATER THAN A HALF AN HOUR BEFORE WE CLOSE FOR YOUR FIREARM(S) TRANSFER.
All firearms, magazines, receivers, and restricted law enforcement items are sold and shipped in accordance with all existing federal, state, local laws, and regulations. Many of the firearms, magazines, and parts for sale on this website may be restricted or prohibited in your area. Please check your local and state regulations before ordering. You must be 18 years or older to purchase a long gun and 21 years or older to purchase a handgun per ATF rules, but state and local laws may differ, and you will need to check your local laws before purchasing a firearm.
All new firearms are shipped in the original manufacturer’s box, with magazine(s), accessories, and applicable warranty. Firearms requiring warranty work must be returned to the factory within 1 year of purchase for repair. Accessories and special-order items not normally sold by our store will not be covered under warranty even if these products are part of an integrated firearms package unless we have guaranteed the entire package in writing. Please contact the original manufacturer for warranty information on all accessories and special-order items. For more information on our RETURN POLICY, please click HERE.
IF YOU PURCHASED A FIREARM FROM US AND/OR ARE CONDUCTING A FIREARM TRANSFER WITH US: We typically charge $35 – $50 for the transfer of any pistol or rifle, including NICS. NFA transfer information is located in the next bolded heading below titled: “NFA TRANSFER PROCESS”.
IF YOU PURCHASED A FIREARM FROM US ON GUNBROKER OR FROM OUR WEBSITE, AND WE ARE NOT CONDUCTING YOUR TRANSFER: If you have selected an FFL that has their FFL information on file with GunBroker, their information will be sent to us electronically at the conclusion of the listing. There is nothing further you need to do. If you have NOT selected a default FFL, and/or one that has their FFL information on file with GunBroker, please have your receiving FFL contact us by phone or email after your gun purchase so that we may verify their FFL information. If you purchased your gun from our website, please have your receiving FFL contact us by email or fax to provide their FFL information.
IF YOU PURCHASED A FIREARM FROM A SELLER ON GUNBROKER OR OTHER ONLINE/OFFLINE SELLER: If you are using us for the transfer, our FFL information is on file with GunBroker so there is nothing further you need to do. If you are using another online seller or FFL, either the seller will reach out to us and request our FFL information, or you can contact us with the seller’s information and we’ll reach out to them directly, whether by email, fax, or phone. Once we receive your item, please allow 1 business day for us to log in the firearm and reach out to you via phone and/or email to advise you that it’s ready for pickup. We process many transfers daily and we won’t forget about you! PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU PURCHASE A GUN ELSEWHERE THAT WE HAVE AVAILABLE, OUR TRANSFER FEE IS $50.00. THERE ARE NO EXCEPTIONS! ADDITIONALLY, ALL TRANSFERS FOR PALMETTO STATE ARMORY ARE $50.00.
IF YOU PURCHASED YOUR GUN FROM A PRIVATE SELLER: A private seller will need to utilize the services of an FFL to send a firearm. We will no longer accept a firearm transfer from a private party. If a firearm is received from a private individual and not an FFL, the item will be surrendered to ATF immediately. THIS IS OUR POLICY AND THERE WILL BE NO EXCEPTIONS!
Once we receive your item, please allow 1 business day for us to log in the firearm and reach out to you via email and/or phone advising you that it’s ready for pickup. We process many transfers daily and we won’t forget about you!
MORE ON THE FFL PROCESS: DON’T LIE FOR THE OTHER GUY – BUY A GUN FOR SOMEONE WHO CAN’T, BUY 10 YEARS IN JAIL! Straw purchases are a big NO NO!
1. We will not sell you a gun if we learn it’s for someone else. We will happily sell you a gift certificate that can be utilized by the other person to purchase the firearm.
2. If you’re buying a gun as a gift for someone else who is of legal age, we will be conducting a NICS check for that individual, not you.
3. DO NOT COME INTO OUR SHOP SMELLING LIKE MARIJUANA AND THINK WE WILL TRANSFER A FIREARM TO YOU. ALTHOUGH IT MAY BE LEGAL AT THE STATE LEVEL, IT IS STILL ILLEGAL AT THE FEDERAL LEVEL. DON’T DO IT! DON’T EVEN SMELL FAINTLY OF IT. IF WE SMELL IT, YOU WILL BE ASKED TO LEAVE AND NEVER COME BACK.
We always reserve the right to DENY any firearm(s) transfer (in state or out of state) if we get a “funny feeling”. Additionally, if we receive a DELAY notification from NICS and this notification has NOT changed to PROCEED after 3 business days, we also reserve the right to NOT transfer the firearm to you at the conclusion of this 3-day grace period. In fact, we reserve the right to NOT release a firearm to you for ANY reason we deem necessary, and are not required to transfer a firearm to you even if passing a background check successfully. If we receive a DENY response from NICS, we will attempt to return the firearm to the sending FFL Dealer. Remember, you are subject to the seller’s return policy if they have one in place. Should the sending FFL Dealer or private party refuse to accept the firearm as a return, we will only pay you Fair Market Value (FMV) less 20% and transfer fee. FFL Dealer transfer fees are NOT refundable under any circumstance. This policy is NOT negotiable.
NFA TRANSFER PROCESS:
We will transfer your item to your preferred local FFL/SOT dealer in your state of residence. After your order is placed, your selected dealer must provide us their FFL/SOT information via email or fax. Unless otherwise stated, we conduct Form 3 transfers within 24 hours of receiving your payment and dealer information. Once approved for the transfer to your local dealer, you may contact them to begin the Form 4 transfer to yourself, trust, or corporation. We highly recommend creating a trust and we can do that for you at a cost of $60.00. Your local dealer will collect the $200 ATF Ransom per NFA item, your trust/corporation documents and responsible person information for trust/legal entity transfers or, your full legal name for individual transfers. Your dealer will also collect a transfer fee for himself for handling your Form 4 paperwork and storing your items. If you do not have a dealer in mind, you may contact us and we can recommend or assist in the location of one in your area.
IF YOU ARE CONDUCTING AN NFA TRANSFER WITH US: We charge $229.99 for any NFA transfer, including NFA Trust, Fingerprints, and Passport photos. This also includes the filing through eForms. Our standard NFA transfer fee is $75. This covers the transfer only. If you are utilizing our SilencerShop Kiosk, our protocol is to charge $40. Once the NFA item arrives at our shop, the $40 charge is refunded by a company check within 10 days of certification and successfull submission of your Form 4.PLEASE BE SURE YOU CAN LEGALLY OWN NFA ITEMS IN YOUR STATE OF RESIDENCE AND FULLY UNDERSTAND THE PURCHASING PROCESS PRIOR TO YOUR COMMITMENT TO BUY.